Tsunami alert declared for six southern provinces of Thailand


Six provinces in the south received a tsunami alert following two earthquakes in the Indian Ocean.

On Saturday night the country’s Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation issued the tsunami alert for the provinces of Ranong, Phang Nga, Phuket, Satun, Trang, and Krabi.

Two tremors with 5.0 and 5.2 magnitudes happened near Andaman Island in the Indian Ocean at 6.29 pm and 6.34 pm local time, the US Geological Survey said.

According to the alert, the tremors occurred roughly 634 kilometers from the island of Phuket.

Officials have been ordered to closely monitor the situation over the next 24 hours, Thaivisa reported.

The alert gave the following contact details for the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation:

Email: wds.ndwc@gmail.com

Phone: 0-2399-4114

Sources: Thairath, Thaivisa

Leave A Comment
Marcus Felipe