Southeast Asian Games (SEA GAMES) brief history


The biennial multi-sport event we now call Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games) was back then called SEAP or the South East Asian Peninsular Games (SEAP Games). 

It was conceptualized by Luang Sukhum Nayaoradit, then Vice-President of the Thailand Olympic Committee, and had its first event in Bangkok from 12–17 December 1959.

Six countries, Burma (now Myanmar), Kampuchea (now Cambodia), Laos, Malaya (now Malaysia), Thailand and Vietnam were the founding members.

His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand formally declared open the inaugural SEAP Games in Bangkok’s National Stadium in 12 sporting disciplines: Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Cycling, Football, Tennis, Shooting, Swimming, Table Tennis, Volleyball and Weightlifting.

In 1975 at the 8th SEAP Games, SEAP Federation considered the inclusion of Brunei, Indonesia, and the Philippines.

Two years later in 1977, the three countries were formally admitted, the same year when SEAP Federation changed their name to Southeast Asian Games Federation (SEAGF), and the games were known as the Southeast Asian Games.

The last country to be admitted was Timor-Leste in 2003 during the 22nd SEA Games Games in Hanoi, Vietnam.

This year, the Philippines is the host of the 30th SEA Games.

Leave A Comment
Marcus Felipe