Philippines extends travel ban on 10 nations including Thailand until Sept. 5


The Philippine government on Tuesday extended the travel ban for travelers entering the country from at least 10 countries until September 5, 2021 due to the threat of the highly contagious Delta coronavirus variant.

The travel ban will still be imposed on Thailand, India Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Malaysia, and Indonesia from Sept. 1 to Sept. 5 this year, Malacañang spokesman Harry Roque said.

The ban was supposed to end today (August 31) but was extended to reduce the spread of the virus.

“These travel restrictions form part of the proactive measures to slow down the rising number of COVID-19 cases, stop further spread of variants, and increase the country’s existing healthcare capacity,” Roque said in a press statement as reported by GMA News.

Source: GMA News

Leave A Comment
Marcus Felipe