Philippines bans travelers from Thailand, Malaysia


Malacañang said that President Duterte on Friday banned travelers from Thailand and Malaysia due to the emergence of the Delta variant, a more infectious coronavirus.

“The President decided to include Malaysia and Thailand among countries where there is a travel ban [on inbound travelers]. This includes those who have trave history in these countries for the last 14 days,” presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said.

“This will be effective from July 25 until July 31,” Roque added.

However, Roque said the ban excludes those overseas Filipino workers on board repatriation flights.

The Philippines earlier banned travelers from Indonesia which is also dealing with rising cases of Delta variant, GMA News reported.

The Department of Health confirmed on Thursday night the local transmission of COVID-19 Delta variant in the Philippines.

The DOH earlier said 12 new Delta variant infections were reported in the country, raising the total cases to 47.

Source: GMA News



Leave A Comment
Marcus Felipe