Govt orders self-quarantine for travelers from 4 countries, 2 territories


BANGKOK — The mandatory self-quarantine order for four countries and two territories has been relaunched after much confusion with a quickly rescinded travel order just days ago.

According to Ministry spokesman Rungrueng Kitphati on Friday, anyone arriving from countries classified as “dangerous communicable disease areas” will be subject to a 14-day self-quarantine.

Countries considered to be high-risk areas are South Korea, China, Macao, Hong Kong, Italy and Iran.

“They will be subject to four measures: they will be isolated, they will have to report themselves, they must be in communication [with the authorities], and they must wait for further instructions,” Rungrueng said.

Self-quarantine will take place either at residences or hotel rooms and will be enforced by a 2015 law on communicable diseases.

Health ministry sec-gen Sukhum Kanchanapimai said foreign travelers from those nations will be given two options: either quarantine themselves in their accommodation for 14 days or spend those days inside government’s quarantine centers.

“At this moment, we are asking for cooperation,” Sukhum said. “But if the person does not cooperate by placing themselves in a self-quarantine, health officials are given legal power to invite them to quarantine facilities.”

Failure to adhere to the quarantine or lie about where one visited is punishable by a 20,000 baht fine.

The officials did not say when exactly the new rules would go into effect.

Continue reading at Khaosod English

Leave A Comment
Marcus Felipe